Skip to main content
Homepage Slider
HomeTed Gifford Community Service Award

The Dr. Edgar (Ted) Gifford

Community Service Award


     The Rotary Club of La Grange Established the Ted Gifford Award in 2003 to honor the community’s unsung heroes.  The award was named after Dr. Gifford in recognition of his compassionate leadership and significant contributions to his fellow man.

     Dr. Gifford, a founding member of the Rotary Club of La Grange, served as the club’s first president and assisted in organizing over thirty additional Rotary clubs.  He received the Rotary International President’s Humanitarian Citation in recognition of his contributions to the global community.  He was instrumental in passage of an enactment which made Youth Exchange an official program of Rotary International.

     Ted Gifford’s civic activities include Director of the West Suburban Chamber of Commerce, President of the Young Men’s Business Club, La Grange Memorial Hospital Associate Board of Governors, President of the La Grange Area Historical Society, and Past President of Aging Care Connections.

     The Ted Gifford Award recognizes volunteers that emulate Dr. Gifford’s examples of community service and love for his fellow man.  Volunteers who work quietly and tirelessly without compensation and far from the spotlight are unsung heroes.  This community service award honors those that exemplify the best of volunteerism.

Past Recipients

2003 Suzanne Johnson

2004 Gaylon Lightner

2005 Kenneth Eastman

2006 Mary Vann

2007 Raymond Vavra

2008 Dan Laczynski

2009 Richard Best

2011 Heather Cavanaugh

2012 Sharon Flaim

2013 Jeannine McLaughlin

2014 Marion L. Vicek
2016 Joanie Domanico

          Alison Kelly

          JoAnn Williams
2017 Bill Ackerman


La Buona Vita
15 W Calendar Ave
LaGrange, IL

FRIDAY at 12:15pm

2017-2018 Board of Directors

Bob Jankowski
Wayne Stevens

Cathy Pierson
Immediate Past Pres.
Linda Yates

Joe Kroc

 Susan Breen
Club Service
Kate Spelman
Community Service

Tony Rico

Doug Fiala

Bill Laipple


Brooks Fuller
The Rotary Foundation
Ken Daemicke
Florence Forshey
International Service/Grants

Kathy Rak
Brett Skeen
Vocational Service
Scott Eggerding
Youth Service

Lauren Pagan
Sergeant at Arms

Mailing Address:
Rotary Club of LaGrange
P.O. Box 372
LaGrange, IL 60525